#20 – ZZ Top / Ted Nugent – 6/1/03

Top to bottom this is one of the best lineups that I had seen to this point in my concert going life. This lineup would be considered a guitar player’s wet dream. I was not that familiar with any of the artists here. I knew the hits from ZZ Top & Nugent but that was about it. If only I had done my homework it would have been even more enjoyable. Kenny Wayne Shepherd hit the stage first and he killed it as I figured he would. I didn’t have the appreciation for his style of music but that appreciation would come later in life for me. But he also threw in Voodoo Child and that was a really awesome way to end his set. I think he would really be even more amazing to see him at a small bar or club but as the opener for 2 larger bands he still did exactly what he was supposed to do and warmed the crowd up real well.

Somehow, Somewhere, Someway
Never Lookin’ Back
Shame, Shame, Shame
Blue on Black
I’m a King Bee
Little Wing
Voodoo Child (Slight Return)

The Motor City Madman was up next and it he was everything and more than what I expected. Loved the bunkers surrounding the drums and some of the monitors as well. Thanks to his performance it got me more encouraged to want to seek out and listen to more Ted Nugent.  Even with all of his political leanings in the early and mid 2000s he was still very enjoyable to see live in concert.  Anymore I don’t think I could even stand to see him live.  His overbearing personality has finally overshadowed his phenomenal playing which still stands up against anyone even half his age.  Solid set and enjoyable stage show with all of his explosions and crossbow skills on stage.

Free-For-All
Wango Tango
Stormtroopin’
Snakeskin Cowboys
Wang Dang Sweet Poontang
Guitar Solo
Hey Baby
Rawdogs & Warhogs
Crave
Kiss My Ass
Cat Scratch Fever
Stranglehold
The Great White Buffalo/Star Spangled Banner/The Great White Buffalo

And now finally time for the bearded headliners of the evening. They were not disappointing in the least.  Looking at this set now it’d be nice if they’d throw in a few deeper cuts but after seeing them like 5 or 6 more times this is just what they play.  They always give the crowd exactly what they want to hear.  Occasionally throwing in something a little different like Catfish Blues.  Beer Drinkers & Hell Raisers is also a pretty cool track too as that’s not something they do a ton anymore.  The majority are just their more widely known tracks.  But it was still new and fresh to me as this was the first time I heard any of those songs live.  But the best was the fact this was the first of many shows that I would go and see with my dad.  Should be a complete set for them.

Gimme All Your Lovin’
Pincushion
Jesus Just Left Chicago
Manic Mechanic
Rough Boy
Cheap Sunglasses
Buck Nekkid
Catfish Blues
I’m Bad, I’m Nationwide
Piece
Beer Drinkers & Hell Raisers
Tube Snake Boogie
Sharp Dressed Man
Legs

La Grange / Sloppy Drunk Jam
Tush

 

